Legal Aid

ABOUT US

History

In 1971, the New Brunswick Legal Aid plan was legislated to help low income individuals obtain the services of a lawyer at no cost or at a minimal cost. Over the next 30 years, the New Brunswick Law Society provided legal aid services, thanks in large part to the legal community who accepted certificates from legal aid clients at reduced rates.

In December, 2005, the New Brunswick Legal Aid Services Commission (NBLASC) was created to oversee the development and delivery of criminal defence services and family legal services. The NBLASC provides legal services through staff lawyers and private lawyers who accept certificates and provide duty counsel services.

The New Brunswick Legal Aid Services Commission operates under the framework of the Legal Aid Act and Regulations.

On July 1, 2012, the Office of the Public Trustee transferred from the Department of Justice and Attorney General to the NBLASC. The Public Trustee of New Brunswick operates under provincial law, to protect the interests, both financial and personal, of elderly people, mentally challenged people, children, missing persons, and deceased persons, when there is no one else able and willing to do so.

The Public Trustee receives its authority under the Public Trustee Act, which refers to the following legislations:

L'Aide juridique

PROFIL

Historique

En 1971, le régime d’aide juridique du Nouveau-Brunswick est devenu un programme prescrit par la loi qui avait pour but d’aider les particuliers à faible revenu à retenir les services d’un avocat sans frais ou à bas prix. Au cours des trente années qui ont suivi, le Barreau du Nouveau-Brunswick s’est chargé d’offrir les services d’aide juridique, en grande partie grâce à l’apport considérable du milieu juridique qui a accepté les certificats des clients de l’aide juridique à tarif réduit.

En décembre 2005, la Commission des services d’aide juridique du Nouveau-Brunswick (CSAJNB) a été constituée dans le but de coordonner la mise sur pied et la prestation des services de défense en droit pénal et des services en droit de la famille. La CSAJNB fournit des services juridiques par l’intermédiaire d’avocats salariés et d’avocats privés qui acceptent les mandats et agissent en qualité d’avocats de service.

La Commission des services d’aide juridique du Nouveau-Brunswick agit dans le cadre de la Loi sur l’aide juridique et de son règlement.

Le 1er juillet 2012, le bureau du curateur public a été transféré du ministère de la Justice et procureur général à la CSAJNB. Le curateur public du Nouveau-Brunswick protège les intérêts financiers et personnels des personnes âgées, des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle, des enfants et des personnes absentes ou décédées lorsque personne d’autre n’est en mesure de le faire ou n’est disposé à le faire.

Le curateur public est habilité à agir par la Loi sur le curateur public qui renvoie aux lois suivantes :